Sweeter Days

The letter, delivered in a battered knight’s helmet, powdered with stone dust, written white-on-black, read as follows:

Your Majesty.

I had such hopes for us. On some sweeter day, we’d have made a cute couple. There are some lovely stars to see in Undertown.

But now you’ve gone and shattered that precious might-have-been.

I’ll find you, O Queen. And when I do, you’ll weep for sweeter days. I will string and stitch you, gamepiece. I will break your squares and topple your king. You don’t fear right, Highness. You don’t know the songs I will sing.

Be seeing you,

Q.

Leave a Reply

