Detention

James meets Shakti during detention, when they’re both assigned to polish the Tricksy Mirrors. It’s hard work – their reflections keep fucking things up.

Eventually he works up the courage to ask: “So how’d you end up here?”

Shakti puts down her rag. “I sang zombies into Mariah’s world-dome.”

“Hah! Really?”

“She’s a bitch.”

“I know.”

Shakti’s mouth quirks into a grin, and she asks him the same question.

“I tried to tell someone the Clock on the Wall was off.”

“Ouch.”

“Yeah.”

“… Is it?”

Before James can answer, he notices the closest mirror and blushes. Their reflections are making out.

2 Responses to “Detention”

  1. Whoa. Were those two stories (Shakti/Clock on the Wall) initially meant to be part of the same story? I had no idea.

  2. When I wrote them, I knew they took place in the same school. But I wasn’t sure if I was going to connect them or not.

Leave a Reply

