Awake

Mmmmuuuuuurrrrgggghhh.

There’s pain everywhere, pain so bad I’m afraid to open my eyes. So I don’t. I wait, and breathe in tiny sips. Eventually, the agony finds a focus, a sense of reason – my arm, my head, my legs, my chest.

When I do finally open my eyes, my heart ramps up. That proves it. I’m not dreaming. Damn.

There’s a beautiful night sky above me, a field of stars. There’s a part of my fractured brain that admires it, through all the screaming.

The screaming that I don’t know where I am. But more: that I don’t know who.

Leave a Reply

