Mirrors

Rudy and I go for a late night walk, on streets turned to mirrors in the rain.  All around me I see friends, lovers, family, and they’re walking with us.  In the water on the ground, ghosts match their step, but I’m nowhere to be seen.

One by one they vanish, puffs of smoke that curl into the sky and gather and burst bright into stars against the clouds.  One by one I lose everyone I’ve ever cared about.

She’s the last, and I try so hard to hold on to her.  But she was never there to begin with.

Leave a Reply

