Finish What You Start

“You’re falling behind,” leers the moon, its voice a rumble in the asphalt.

“I know,” I say.

“What gives?”

“It’s personal.”  Rudy is standing almost perfectly still beside me – his nose twitches, telling him god knows what.

“You can tell me.”

“No.  No, I don’t think I can.”

“Then I’ll tell you: it doesn’t matter what it was.  This isn’t whimsy or hobby.  This is the Work.  You get it done.  You keep going.  Finish what you start.”

I open and close my mouth, but nothing comes out.  Rudy starts panting.

“Good.  I’ll talk to you later,” says the moon.

Leave a Reply

