Malloy

April 31

Have made contact with Captain Hart, who will be guide/security chief for expedition.  Gruff man, prone to moody silences.  I am told by one of the crew that he lost a son on last voyage.

Two days in this cave and already I miss the air.

Have developed minor obsession with checking instruments.  Everything is fine everything is fine everything is fine.  Ivan says it’s normal.  I see him sharpening his blades every few hours.

The heat from the passageway is dull, throbbing.  At night, I can feel it across the chamber.  Its red glow creeps in everywhere.

One Response to “Malloy”

  1. Yes, I know there isn’t an April 31st. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

