To Those of You Still Reading

Hi.

So, obviously I haven’t been updating very regularly, recently.  That is in part because things have gotten a little busier around here (although still not as busy as I’d like) but more because I’ve finally got back into a regular writing habit.  I’m currently working on a play, something that will in all likelihood be used as part of a grad school portfolio in the fall (and for those of you curious about my grad school ordeal, feel free to send me an e-mail).  And, because I can only afford to dedicate a few hours a day to writing, I’ve been using pretty much all of that time and energy on this other, bigger thing.

Last week was the one year anniversary of the Two Minutes Project.  I’m very happy I made it that far.  And tomorrow, my 300th story will go up, so that seems like a pretty good place to back off for a little while.  That said, I’m not ready to retire TMP forever.  It’s more that I’m going to go on a bit of a hiatus, until I get some things sorted out, and until I feel comfortable enough about my day-to-day writing habits to take on a little extra.  I’ll continue to post stories here, on occasion, if the mood or an idea strikes me.  And I’ll be sure to let you know when I start up again for reals.

Just wanted to thank everyone for reading, and for your support and encouragement.  I wouldn’t have made it a week if you folks hadn’t told me you liked what you saw.  And if you’re interested in reading something longer, please feel free to send me an e-mail or put a comment up on here to that effect.  I don’t finish things all that often, and I’m terrible about going back and making things into workable, readable drafts, but whatever I’ve got you’re welcome to see.

I’ll be in touch.

2 Responses to “To Those of You Still Reading”

  1. Congrats, Greg. Both a year and 30 000 words are huge milestones.

    A play, huh? Looking forward to badgering you to let me read it, and later, reading it.

  2. most schools don’t care what your analytical writing score is, as long as it’s above 4.0. if the program cares about your ability to write, they ask you for writing samples and base their opinion on your ability on that sample, not the AW score. if the program doesn’t care about your ability to write, they don’t really care about the AW score either. anything below 4.0 tends to send up some red flags about literacy levels. you won’t get something in the 3s or below unless you’re writing things like "i am a undergrad student." but 4.0-6.0 is fine. if anything, i’ve heard stories about humanities programs looking at 6.0 AW scores with some skepticism because the best essays tend to receive 5.0 or 5.5 scores.

Leave a comment